The notice was served to all users of WhatsApp, inviting to accept the conditions by September 25, 2016 in order to continue to use app.
If you are reading this article most likely you have already accepted the new privacy WhatsApp privacy, as was notified beginning in late August.
The main changes include:
- Added limits and conditions for the end-to-end encryption already introduced in ‘app in April 2016.
- Possibilities for companies to communicate with users using WhatsApp. For example, through information on orders, transactions, events, notifications of deliveries, etc ..
- Sharing information of their WhatsApp account with Facebook to improve commercial ads and Facebook products.
It is precisely the point 3 that garnered more attention. This clause would allow Facebook to “spy” or simply to access contacts, phone numbers and other user data. To do what? Is the question that many people will be placed? According WhatsApp this will, we quote verbatim, to “improve their experiences with Facebook ads and products.”
The idea that Facebook can somehow be authorized to take information of our accounts WhatsApp, has made many users alarm. Fortunately, this option can be disabled, but beware there is a limited time!
To read the complete legal notice, with the new features, you can consult this page web, also accessible from the app by following this path:
Settings -> About and Help -> Terms & Privacy
How to disable sharing with Facebook
Once accepted the new information, to block and disable the consent to the use of data by Facebook you will have 30 days, after which it will no longer be possible to change the option.
To disable sharing with Facebook, go to:
Settings -> Accounts
Tick the bottom option, next to the entry Share account info.
If you decide to accept the new conditions and activates leave the option of “sharing”, Facebook as mentioned above, can access your phone’s data related to WhatsApp, send targeted advertisements, suggesting friends on Facebook with whom you have interacted on WhatsApp or use the data for profiling operations. It’s your call.
Warning: Once disabled the option or the deadline of 30 days, will no longer be changed by the user.Tags: WhatsApp